Skip to main content

Monthly Financial Snapshot: September 2016

You can also track my all-time progress on the aptly-named Current Progress page.

Rent$765.00$750 for rent + $15 in fees for Plastiq in order to pay via credit card
Internet$60.92Internet is kind of expensive out here in the boonies
Cell Phone$32.88$30 + taxes/fees for 5 GB of 4G data through T-Mobile
Natural Gas$18.38About average gas use for the month.
Electricity$62.54Two months' worth due to billing timing.
Water$40.51My actual water usage is only about $5, but my town tacks on so many fees that the bill comes to $40+ every month! :(
Groceries$119.64My second-lowest grocery bill this year! I cook nearly all of my meals myself and do 95% of my grocery shopping at Aldi for massive savings.
Car Insurance$0.00I pay every 6 months in April and October.
Gasoline$58.90More than average, due to a couple trips to the city/airport.
Car Expenses$0.00Nothing broken or needing maintenance this month!
Health Insurance$19.30Heavily subsidized, high-deductible plan through my work. Includes health, dental, and vision.
Other$0.00Nothing to see here, move along
Necessary$1,178.07Below average!
Restaurants$125.84Highest monthly restaurant spending so far this year. Eating out once with coworkers + lunch/dinner while visiting a friend
Entertainment$8.99Netflix! Sadly, their price will be increasing to $9.99 starting next month
Shopping$0.00No unnecessary shopping for this month
Travel/Parking$138.06I spent a long weekend in Boston visiting friends. Includes all spending I did while I was there and anything else related to the trip like airport parking.
Gifts/Donations$10.00Patreon donation to my favorite YouTube channel
Software/Games$13.17Bought the domain name for this very site!
Other$2,996.34The elephant in the budget. This is a one-time ~$3k expense for a large personal project that hopefully will pay off greatly in the future.
Discretionary$3,292.40Almost triple my necessary spending!
Total Expenses$4,470.47Very high this month! My 2nd-highest monthly spending since I started keeping track in May 2015.
Gross Income$7,884.81Three paychecks this month! Helps to offset the abnormally high expenses this month.
401(k) Match$235.68My company matches 3% of gross salary
Taxes$1,387.39Federal + state income tax + payroll taxes. Have already maxed out pre-tax 401(k) contributions so no deduction left for me. Boo!
Net Income$6,733.10Higher than average due to third paycheck this month.
Savings$2,262.63What I didn't spend this month. Most of this currently goes to after-tax 401(k).
Savings Rate33.6%Savings / Net Income. Not great for this month, but will definitely do better next time!
Net Worth$96,619.57Unfortunately didn't cross the $100k threshold just yet, although I do now (just barely!) have $100k of assets. Will definitely get there next month!

Projected time to FI (assuming 6% growth and 4% withdrawal rate): 7 years 2 months

...but this is kind of misleading as it assumes I spend an extra $3k every year when this is really a one-time expense for a personal project. So, for projection purposes, I'm going to cheat a bit and pretend like I didn't spend that extra $3k this month...

For-realsies projected time to FI (assuming 6% growth and 4% withdrawal rate): 6 years 1 month