Since this blog is new, here is my most recent financial snapshot. In the future, I will post these on the final day of every month.

Aug-16 Comments
Rent $765.00 $750 for rent + $15 in fees for Plastiq in order to pay via credit card
Internet $60.92 Internet is kind of expensive out here in the boonies
Cell Phone $32.88 $30 + taxes/fees for 5 GB of 4G data through T-Mobile
Natural Gas $37.87 Actually 2 months’ worth of gas, due to billing timing
Electricity $30.87 A little higher than average this month due to fan use
Water $42.48 My actual water usage is only about $5, but my town tacks on so many fees that the bill comes to $40+ every month!
Groceries $168.66 About average for me. I cook nearly all of my meals myself and do 95% of my grocery shopping at Aldi for massive savings.
Car Insurance $0.00 I pay every 6 months in April and October.
Gasoline $79.53 More than average, due to extra travelling for work.
Car Expenses $0.00 Nothing broken or needing maintenance this month!
Health Insurance $19.30 Heavily subsidized, high-deductible plan through my work. Includes health, dental, and vision.
Other $31.47 $31 for fluoride varnish not covered by dental insurance, 47 cents for a stamp to mail a jury duty form.
Necessary $1,268.98 Slightly below average. Not too bad!
Restaurants $36.50 Eating out twice with coworkers
Entertainment $8.99 Netflix!
Shopping $0.00 No unnecessary shopping for this month
Travel/Parking $11.20 9/11 security fee on the ticket to visit family in December. I paid for the airfare using miles!
Gifts/Donations $10.00 Patreon donation to my favorite YouTube channel
Software/Games $0.00 Nothing to see here, move along
Other $0.00 Nothing to see here, move along
Discretionary $66.69 Very low this month!
Total Expenses $1,335.67 Low this month!
Gross Income $5,246.54 Standard paychecks this month
401(k) Match $157.12 My company matches 3% of gross salary
Taxes $972.52 Federal + state income tax + payroll taxes. Have already maxed out pre-tax 401(k) contributions so no deduction left for me. Boo!
Net Income $4,431.14 Bit below average due to higher taxation (see above)
Savings $3,095.47 What I didn’t spend this month. Most of this currently goes to after-tax 401(k).
Savings Rate 69.9% Savings / Net Income. Not bad for this month!
Net Worth $ 93,133.74 Getting close to $100k!

Projected time to FI (assuming 6% growth and 4% withdrawal rate): 6 years 3 months