Not too much to report this month, other than that this was my final transition month from my old company to my new one. I received my final paycheck from my previous company this month, as well as my first one from my new company.

I have also returned to working in Tokyo rather than Nagoya, just in time for the 2nd wave of the Coronavirus. My current company isn’t well-equipped for work from home, so for the time being I continue to commute into the Tokyo office. The office is fairly empty, however, so that somewhat reduces the risk of exposure.

In other news, I received a $250 bank bonus from an account that I opened in March, right before US interest rates started to fall dramatically. I managed to lock in a decent interest rate at the time, so I don’t plan on moving any money out of the account in the near future. Will keep periodically investing savings, as usual.

Here’s my July expenses:

Category 07/20 Comments
Rent $972.67 Regular rent + $50 for company sharehouse
Internet $17.33
Cell Phone $30.54
Natural Gas $13.29
Electricity $0.00 Didn’t pay bill before end of the month
Water $0.00
Groceries $258.43
Transport $118.62 1 month train pass for Tokyo
Health $363.23 Health insurance (overlapping coverage this month)
Other $3.78 Laundry
Necessary $1,777.88
Restaurants $314.08
Entertainment $103.47 Audible subscription
Shopping $445.73 Bought some networking equipment for a homelab
Travel/Parking $0.00
Gifts/Donations $14.89
Software/Games $20.02
Business $0.00
Other $0.00
Discretionary $898.18 More than average for the month
Total Expenses $2,676.06 More than average for the month
Gross Income $4,406.82 First salary from new job + $250 bank bonus
Taxes $694.75
Net Income $3,712.06 About average
Savings $1,036.00 Less than average for the month
Savings Rate 27.91% Less than average for the month
Net Worth $342,281.52 Up due to market recovery

Projected time to FI (assuming 6% growth and 4% withdrawal rate): 6 years, 6 months.