Happy New Year!

I haven’t posted in a few months due to a recent change in my living situation: I moved into a new apartment with my girlfriend! It was an expensive move (as is the norm in Japan) with a lot of unavoidable fees, and the rent is about double what each of us were paying living separately, but in return we are getting almost 3 times the space. Each of us has enough space to work from home without disturbing each other, and we are able to spend even more time together without having to plan ahead or compensate for work schedules. However, since we are now sharing household expenses, I no longer have a complete picture of our household spending, so for the time being I will discontinue my monthly detailed spending reports.

In investment news, the US market seems to have become even more sensitive to the high inflation and subsequent hints of rising interest rates from the Fed. Hoping that this finally kills off the speculative bubbles in real estate, cryptocurrencies and related products, tech stocks, Tesla, etc., but I doubt it will be enough on its own. Nevertheless, my investment balances still managed to increase since my last post, although most of it was offset by the previously-mentioned moving expenses so pretty much zero net gain in net worth.

Once again this year, I executed a Roth conversion to take advantage of my otherwise-unused standard deduction space. However, I was a little bit too aggressive with my estimates and ended up converting a little bit more than my tax-free allowance, so I will end up owing about $400 on this year’s conversion. I’ll have to remember to be more careful next year.

Description 12/21
Total Expenses $2,162.27
Gross Income $7,335.50
Taxes $1,498.06
Net Income $5,837.44
Savings $3,675.17
Savings Rate 62.96%
Net Worth $430,440.25

Projected time to FI (assuming 6% growth and 4% withdrawal rate): 6 years, 4 months.