Monthly Financial Snapshot: January 2017

Jan-17 Comments
Rent $765.00 $750 for rent + $15 in fees for Plastiq in order to pay via credit card
Internet $60.92 Internet is kind of expensive out here in the boonies
Cell Phone $132.88 Higher this month because I paid $100 upfront as part of acquiring inventory (a free phone) that I later sold.
Natural Gas $31.26 About 50% more than my normal bill, due to it being winter.
Electricity $0.00 Timing of payment cycles means this month's bill will be paid next month.
Water $46.84 My actual water usage is only about $5, but my town tacks on so many fees that the bill comes to $40+ every month! :(
Groceries $158.99 About average groceries for this month.
Car Insurance $0.00 I pay every 6 months in April and October.
Gasoline $43.46 Higher this month due to travel
Car Expenses $0.00 Nothing to see here, move along
Health Insurance $13.34 Heavily subsidized, high-deductible plan through my work. Includes health and dental.
Other $0.00 Nothing to see here, move along
Necessary $1,252.69 About average for the month
Restaurants $45.23 Work holiday party and eating out a few times with coworkers.
Entertainment $11.81 Netflix+ impulse $2 movie buy
Shopping $23.69 Not much personal shopping this month.
Travel/Parking $962.45 Booked my flights and hotels for my Japan/San Jose trip in April/May!
Gifts/Donations $85.54 Bought food and drinks for my friend's birthday party.
Software/Games $16.87 Awardwallet annual subscription and discounted 1 year of Todoist Premium
Business $2,218.13 Started a business this month. This is investment in inventory, office supplies, and services.
Other $0.00 Nothing to see here, move along
Discretionary $3,363.72 Much larger than average, although I expect my income to increase over the following months as a result of business investment.
Total Expenses $4,616.41 Above average, obviously
Gross Income $6,725.96 ESPP payout, plus income from first few business sales
401(k) Match $189.22 My company matches 3% of gross salary
Taxes $1,261.68 Federal + state income tax + payroll taxes.
Net Income $5,653.50 Above average (but will soon become average!)
Savings $1,037.09 What I didn't spend this month. Most of this currently goes to 401(k).
Savings Rate 18.3% Savings / Net Income. Very low for me, but again, will hopefully go up once business picks up.
Net Worth $ 111,938.86 Yuge (...ugh) gain thanks to the market
Projected time to FI (assuming 6% growth and 4% withdrawal rate): 7 years 6 months

© FIFoldPath 2016-2021