Monthly Financial Snapshot: May 2017

Crossed the $150k milestone this month. Was travelling for the first half of the month, so some of my ordinary expenses dropped while some my discretionaries went up. All in all, a pretty average month as far as spending goes.

May-17 Comments
Rent $765.00 $750 for rent + $15 Plastiq fees
Internet $60.92 Internet is kind of expensive out here in the boonies
Cell Phone $0.00 Still using up my prepaid credit.
Natural Gas $28.22 Slightly above normal, but pretty reasonable
Electricity $50.41 Two month's bills due to timing
Water $40.94 Little less than average since I was travelling
Groceries $70.87 About half of normal since I was travelling
Car Insurance $0.00 I pay every 6 months in April and October.
Gasoline $42.08 Little less than average since I was travelling
Car Expenses $0.00 Nothing to see here, move along
Health Insurance $13.34 Heavily subsidized, high-deductible plan through my work. Includes health and dental.
Other $31.00 Dental bill for fluoride
Necessary $1,102.78 Little higher than average due to medium-term expense payments
Restaurants $111.87 Ate out with coworkers and visited a friend over the weekend
Entertainment $23.99 Netflix + movie ticket
Shopping $124.80 Normal shopping + replaced my lost fitbit
Travel/Parking $648.62 Remainder of my travel expenses on my trip
Gifts/Donations $31.00 Donation to my favorite Youtube channel + Mother's Day gift
Software/Games $0.00 Nothing to see here, move along
Business $18.53 Inventory to sell
Other $15.00 Expense for my personal project
Discretionary $973.81 Little lower than average despite vacation expenses
Total Expenses $2,076.59 Little less than average for the month
Gross Income $6,927.23 2 paychecks this month and business income
401(k) Match $194.72 My company matches 3% of gross salary + profit-sharing from last year
Taxes $936.60 Federal + state income tax + payroll taxes.
Net Income $6,185.35 Below average, but only because the average has been skewed high due
Savings $4,108.76 What I didn't spend this month. Currently about half going to my 401k.
Savings Rate 66.43% Savings / Net Income. About average this month.
Net Worth $151,858.67 Made it past $150k this month. Onwards to $200k by the end of the year!
Projected time to FI (assuming 6% growth and 4% withdrawal rate): 7 years, 3 months

© FIFoldPath 2016-2021